12/31/23 Toast the Ghost of Another Year Past – Happy New Year

Well, it’s New Year’s Eve 2023!

Through the years I’ve posted some interesting songs about the New Year (or the year ending).

Those are just a handful. Use the search bar in the top left of the page. You can go back to 2010 and search each day I posted. Pretty cool it’s all still there.

I try to post at least one version of Auld Lang Syne. And then a song or two on the year ending/beginning.

Yesterday I posted Winter Part 2, a tremendous song by The White Buffalo and will add his song, Not Today

One more trip around the sun
What else do we say?
Happy New Year, Earth
Or something else cliché

Well, it’s a whole new me
It feels like I’m born again
Think what I could become
I hope this feeling never ends

The morning sun kisses the frost away
It warms my heart, breathes in a brighter day

Resolutions set
Life’s a boundless buffet
Find what’s pure and true
Strangulate my wicked ways

I’m a dark horse
Bets at 40 to none
Failures in the past
Set my sights on number one

The trophy’s won before I leave the gates
There’s no tomorrow, it’s time to seize today
Today

Lyrics from Not Today – The White Buffalo

The White Buffalo – Not Today

###

Next up is Ohio’s Over the Rhine, a band whose song All I Ever Get for Christmas is Blue gets featured regularly on December 26th. How I haven’t posted New Year’s Song is a mystery. It’s a great song.

Let’s stay home and play old records
Our future’s bright our past is checkered
What do you say we lift a glass
Toast the ghost of another year past

New Year’s Song – Over the Rhine

Over the Rhine – New Year’s Song

###

Any finally, Sleeping at Last’s version of Auld Lang Syne (Sleeping at Last featured previously on December 19. 2016). Sleeping at Last is a Chicago area “musical project” that among many other things, puts out Christmas music every year. Auld Lang Syne is from their latest, Christmas Collection Volume 2.

Sleeping at Last – Auld Lang Syne

###

And thus ends The Week Between and 2023. I thank you for following me on this annual Christmas blog. I have fun putting it together and hope you enjoy it. The Lord willing, I’ll be back on Thanksgiving next year – the 28th of November — the latest is can be held. (Heck, I might start earlier.) Check out my spotifiy playlist. If during the year you need a blast of Christmas cheer, just put it on.

Leave a comment