Whose Idea Is It To Put THAT Song In Rotation?

I recently moved from Dish Satellite to DirecTV (for a myriad of reasons). One of the things I liked about Dish was their music channels (all Sirius XM). During the holidays, Sirius loads up on a variety of holiday music. If I was inclined to actually want to hear say… the Chipmunks, I could bring up a channel to that effect. Sirius has a little bit of everything — even stuff I feature.

DIRECTV uses a different service — SonicTap.  SonicTap offers up one holiday music channel. (I get 380 channels, three of which I actually watch, but just ONE Christmas music channel – go figure.) Today as I was writing this post, the one channel played a Dean Martin song, followed by Air Supply and then to The Chipmunks. I turned it off.

Which brings me to the title of this post. Who decided “The Chipmunk Song – Christmas Don’t Be Late” should be in a hot radio rotation throughout October, November and December? At some point…isn’t enough, enough?

Well… some facts on this song:

  • It was written and released in 1958
  • It won three grammy awards (Best Comedy Performance, Best Children’s Recording, and Best Engineered Record (non-classical)
  • When it debuted on American Bandstand, it received the lowest rating possible, a 35
  • The original sold 4.5 million copies in seven weeks
  • It reappeared each year from 1959 through 1962, reentering the top 100 each time
  • It’s the last Christmas tune to reach #1

Maybe I’m wrong. Sung without the annoying voices, it’s actually a beautiful song. Rosie Thomas is a singer/songwriter from Michigan. In 2008 she released a Christmas record titled, “A Very Rosie Christmas.” On it, she performs a wonderful cover of the tune. You can listen to the entire record here: http://rosiethomas.bandcamp.com/album/a-very-rosie-christmas.

One more thing, when I first heard this version, I did not immediately recognize it was a cover. It sounded familiar, but I couldn’t place it. After the 3rd listen, the Holy Crap, that’s the Chipmunks tune! moment hit me.

Rosie Thomas – Christmas Don’t Be Late

Why Can’t It Be Christmas All Year

Leave a Reply

